Book Review · Uncategorized

Book Review: Root Magic

Root MagicRoot Magic by Eden Royce
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I enjoyed this book so much! I particularly loved that it could be both chilling and warm-hearted at the same time.

One thing that really struck me was how chilling some of the magical scenes were, but that the real fear was to be found in the human world. There were some scenes which I found truly horrifying and gut-wrenching, and I think that’s not only because they were told so well, but because of the truth in them. The different ways that Eden Royce portrayed a fear of the unknown in the story, and how different people dealt with that was really thought-provoking for me, and the heroine of the story triumphs mostly through compassion and understanding.

I didn’t feel like anything was over-described, the writing was never patronising, or felt like it was trying to preach a message, but was, if anything, welcoming. Eden Royce shares her culture and history with us, and I’m so grateful that she did!

The author did such a good job in creating a heroine who was kind, thoughtful, brave, and clever without labouring any of those points. Jez’s characteristics really felt like a result of her family, her history, her community, and her inquisitive nature, and were portrayed through her actions, and how other characters perceive her, rather than through description. Jezebel is a real role model for young girls (and for adult readers for that matter)

The book had a great pace, it was a page-turner for me. The plot begins straightaway, and I was hooked right from the first line, for those who want a glimpse, here’s how good the first line is:
(view spoiler)
I completely agree with all of the reviews on the back of the book, including Justina Ireland’s assertion that it is
“A poignant, necessary entry into the children’s literary canon.”
I would love this to be a modern classic enjoyed by all and found in every school library.

P.S. A note on the cover:
I love the cover art: it’s dark, and magical, and shows the twins facing the world togather, and I love how they look out of the cover at the reader, you connect with them immediately. There’s a lot of elements of the story hidden in the cover, Jennifer Bricking has done such a good job, love it!

View all my reviews

Leave a comment